Air Refrigeration

 

Air as a refrigerant is for free, safe and has no restrictions.

In 2019, we realized two sensations with the air cycle refrigeration systems from Mirai Intex (see references) and have been asked a lot about the new technology ever since. On this page we will set up information material on this cold air technology.​

 

Basic video with Professor Michael Kauffeld

 

Technology

The cold air cooling technology from Mirai Intex works oil-free with only air as the refrigerant. For this purpose, Mirai Intex has developed a unique turbocompressor expander. This is air-borne and the compressor and expansion wheel are on a shaft, so that the energy of relaxation is fed back to the compression. The pressures are a maximum of 4 barg, which is comparable to a bicycle tire.

 

This makes the technology safe for people and the environment, long-lasting, reliable, quiet and maintenance friendly.

Joule Process

 

Air from the refrigerator or the heat exchanger is suked and compressed (1 → 2). The pressure and temperature increase. The existing pressure remains constant until relaxation. The process temperature in the gas cooler is cooled by ambient air (2 → 3). Energy is recovered in the internal heat exchanger, the so-called recuperator, the warmer air from point 3 heats the intake air from point 1. In reverse, the air cools further from 3 → 4. This is followed by relaxation in a turboexpander. The work done during relaxation is manifested in a reduction in pressure and temperature. In contrast to the steam cooling process, the energy intake does not function through the phase change, but through the warming of the air (5 → 6). Air is continuously suked from the consumer and cools the air in the recuperator that is already in the circuit (6 → 1). Then the cycle starts again (1).

 

In cold air machines, the expander is mounted on a shaft with the frequency-controlled electric motor and the compressor. With this arrangement, the work gained in the work-performing expansion is supplied to the compression. The shaft is air-borne, which enables completely lubricant-free operation.

 

How Mirai Intex machines work

Ausführung

Implementation

 

The systems are essentially available in two versions.

  • as a closed machine - with an integrated heat exchanger

  • as an open machine - with automatic defrosting

 

The main difference is that the open machine sucks in air from a cold room and then cools it down. One therefore speaks of an open cycle. In contrast, in the closed machine the air is in a closed circuit. In this case, the consumer is a heat exchanger.

 

No evaporator with the

open system

In an open circuit, air is drawn in directly from the cold room. Due to the low temperatures, all water in the air has frozen out to ice crystals. These crystals are caught by redundant filters when they are sucked in. When a filter is full, the ice is shaken off by a short pressure surge. The ice crystals fall into a channel. In the channel, the ice is mechanically transported out of the cold room without additional heat input. Outside the cold room, the ice crystals can thaw in the environment without having to introduce thermal energy into the cold room. Since there is no need for an evaporator, there is also no temperature difference for heat transport and fans. This reduces the cold store load by up to 30%. This has to be considered when designing and considering energy efficiency.

Areas of application for the open machine

  • Cold rooms
    The open machine works optimally in cold rooms. By eliminating the heat exchangers and the defrosting system, the cooling load of the entire cold room is reduced. Continuous operation is guaranteed. Due to the safe pressure level of maximum 3 barg, handling the chiller is wasy and safe.

  • Biobanking
    Due to the dry air that prevails in the cold room, your refrigerated goods are stored reliably and with a reduced formation of an ice sheet.

  • Environmental simulations
    With good control technology, the accuracy of the temperature can be set to within ± 0.5 K. The temperature can be set anywhere from ambient temperature to -160°C. In addition, a particularly homogeneous temperature distribution can be achieved.

  • Whole-Body-Cryotherapy
    When using the open machines in cold saunas, the deicing system can show what it can do. Continuous operation with permanently entering and leaving people works without any problems.

Areas of application for the closed machine

  • Provision of cooling brine
    Due to the good part-load behavior of the turboexpander, the provision of cold for the process is always guaranteed. In addition, the system does not fail when there are rapid load changes.

  • Gastrap / Gasliquefaction
    Due to the temperature spread and low temperatures, the machines are perfect for gas traps. In addition, the machines can be operated with pure nitrogen and then also used for explosive media.

  • Lyophilization
    Batch processes can be decisively optimized with the combination of cold storage and cold air cycle machines. The dynamic load profile during freeze drying can be carried out in this combination without peak loads in consuming electricity or  cooling water.

  • Shock freezing
    Large loads can be run in a very short time thanks to a cold storage and the cold air machines.

 
Engineering Tools

Conatct

Adress

Karpatenstraße 26, 76227 Karlsruhe

Contacts

Follow us

+49 (0) 1797860704

©2019 by Refolution Industriekälte GmbH

Kaltlufttechnik

Luft als Kältemittel ist kostenlos, ungefährlich und frei von Regularien.

 

Wir haben 2019 zwei Weltneuheiten mit Kaltlufttechnik von Mirai Intex realisiert (siehe Referenzen) und werden seitdem viel zu der neuen Technik befragt. Auf dieser Seite werden wir nach und nach viel Informationsmaterial zur Kaltlufttechnik einstellen.​

 

Grundlagenvideo mit Professor Kauffeld

 

Grundlagen der Technik

Die Kaltluftkältetechnik von Mirai Intex funktioniert ölfrei mit nur Luft als Kältemittel. Dazu hat Mirai Intex einen einzigartigen Turboverdichter-Expander entwickelt. Dieser ist luftgelagert und das Verdichter und Entspannungsrad befinden sich auf einer Welle, sodass die Energie der Entspannung der Kompression wieder zugeführt wird. Die Drücke betragen maximal 4 barg was vergleichbar mit einem Fahrradreifen ist.

Damit ist die Technik besonders sicher für Mensch und Umwelt, langlebig, zuverlässig, leise und wartungsarm.

Joule Prozess

 

Luft wird aus dem Kühlraum bzw. dem Wärmetauscher angesaugt und verdichtet (1→2). Dabei steigen Druck und Temperatur. Der eingestellte Druck verhält sich bis zur Entspannung konstant. Im Gaskühler wird die Prozesstemperatur durch Umgebungsluft gekühlt (2→3). Im Inneren- Wärmeübertrager, dem sogenannten Rekuperator, findet eine Energierückgewinnung statt, die wärmere Luft von Punkt 3 erwärmt die angesaugte Luft von Punkt 1. Im Umkehrschluss kühlt sich dadurch die Luft von 3→4 weiter ab. Anschließend erfolgt eine arbeitsleistende Entspannung in einem Turboexpander. Die bei der Entspannung verrichtete Arbeit äußert sich in einer Senkung von Druck und Temperatur. Anders als beim Dampfkälteprozess findet die Energieaufnahme nicht durch den Phasenwechsel statt, sondern durch die Erwärmung der Luft (5→6). Fortlaufend wird Luft aus dem Verbraucher gesaugt und kühlt im Rekuperator die Luft, die sich bereits im Kreislauf befindet (6→1). Anschließend startet der Kreislauf wieder von vorne (1). 

Bei Kaltluftmaschinen ist der Expander auf einer Welle mit dem frequenzgesteuerten Elektromotor und dem Verdichter montiert. Durch diese Anordnung wird die gewonnene Arbeit bei der arbeitsverrichtenden Expansion der Kompression zugeführt. Die Welle ist luftgelagert, dadurch ist der Betrieb ölfrei.

 

Die Funktionsweise der Mirai Intex Maschinen im Video

Ausführung

Ausführungen

 

Die Anlagen gibt es im wesentlichen in zwei Ausführungen.

 

  • als geschlossene Maschine - mit integriertem Wärmetauscher

  • als offene Maschine - mit automatischer Enteisung

​Der wesentliche Unterschied liegt darin, dass die offene Maschine Luft aus einem Kühlraum ansaugt und diese im anschließenden Verlauf abkühlt. Man spricht deshalb von einem offenen Kreislauf.

Im Gegensatz dazu befindet sich in der geschlossenen Maschine die Luft in einem geschlossenen Kreislauf. Der Verbraucher ist in diesem Falle ein Wärmeübertrager. 

 

Kein Verdampfer beim offenen System

Beim offenen Kreislauf wird Luft aus dem Kühlraum direkt angesaugt. Durch die niedrigen Temperaturen ist sämtliches Wasser in der Luft zu Eiskristallen ausgefroren. Beim Ansaugen werden diese Kristalle von redundanten Filtern abgefangen. Wenn ein Filter voll ist, wird durch einen kurzen Druckstoß das Eis abgeschüttelt. Die Eiskristalle fallen in einen Kanal. In dem Kanal wird das Eis mechanisch, ohne zusätzlichen Wärmeeintrag, aus dem Kühlraum befördert. Außerhalb des Kühlraums können die Eiskristalle an der Umgebung auftauen, ohne dass thermische Energie in den Kühlraum eingebracht werden muss. Da kein Verdampfer nötig ist entfällt auch der Temperaturunterschied für den Wärmetransport und die Ventilatoren. Damit sinkt die Kühlraumlast um bis zu 30%. Dies ist bei der Auslegung und der Betrachtung der Energieeffizienz zu beachten.

Einsatzgebiete der offenen Maschine

  • Kühlräume
    In Kühlräumen funktioniert die offene Maschine optimal. Durch den Wegfall der Wärmetauscher und die Enteisungsanlage wird die Kühllast des kompletten Kühlraums heruntergesetzt. Der Dauerbetrieb ist gewährleistet. Durch die sichere Drucklage von maximal 3 barg ist der Umgang mit der Kältemaschine sicher. 

  • Biobanking
    Durch die trockene Luft, die in dem Kühlraum herrscht, lagern Ihr Kühlgut verlässlich und ohne Bildung eines Eispanzers. 

  • Umweltsimulationen
    Durch eine gute Regelungstechnik ist die Genauigkeit der Temperatur auf ±0,5 K genau einstellbar. Die Temperatur kann beliebig von Umgebungstemperatur bis -160°C eingestellt werden. Zudem kann eine besonders homogene Temperaturverteilung erreicht werden.

  • Kältesaunen
    Beim Einsatz der offenen Maschinen in Kältesaunen kann das Enteisungssystem zeigen was es kann. Ein Dauerbetrieb mit permanent ein- und austretenden Personen funktionier problemlos.

Einsatzgebiete der geschlossenen Maschine

  • Kühlsolebereitstellung
    Durch das gute Teillastverhalten des Turboexpanders ist die Kältebereitstellung für den Prozess stets gewährleistet. Zudem fällt die Anlage bei schnellen Lastwechseln nicht aus.

  • Gasfalle/Gasverflüssigung
    Durch die Temperaturspreizung und den tiefen Temperaturen eigenen sich die Maschinen perfekt für Gasfallen. Zudem können die Maschinen mit reinem Stickstoff betrieben und dann auch für explosive Medien eingesetzt werden.

  • Gefriertrocknung
    Mit der Kombination aus Ladespeicher und Kaltluftkältetechnik können Batchprozesse entscheidend optimiert werden. Das dynamische Lastprofil beim Gefriertrocknen kann in dieser Kombilösung ohne Lastspitzen bei der Stromaufnahme oder beim Kühlwasserbedarf abgefahren werden.

  • Schockfrostung
    Durch einen Ladespeicher können in kürzester Zeit große Leistungen abgefahren werden.

 
Engineering Tools

KONTAKT

Adresse

Karpatenstraße 26, 76227 Karlsruhe

Kontakt

Folgen

+49 (0) 1797860704

©2019 by Refolution Industriekälte GmbH