ULT-Container

The storage of vaccines or products such as enzymes, blood plasma and reserve samples require very low temperatures, sometimes below -80 ° C. These ULT (=  Ultra-Low Temperature) applications need reliable and efficient refrigeration. Many system manufacturers use the synthetic refrigerant R23 (GWP of 14,800 tonnes of CO2 equivalent), which in the case of a leak has a massive impact on the climate and  which is in addition very likely to be banned in the near future. In order to offer an alternative to the critical refrigerant R23, Refolution has teamed up with KTI-Plersch, Secon and Mirai Intex to design an efficient, mobile and environmentally friendly ultra-low temperature storage based on the air cycle technology developed by Mirai Intex.

ULT-Container
ULT-Container Eingang
ULT-Container Innenansicht
ULT-Container Seitenansicht Logos
20211102_135700

KTI-Plersch now offers a mobile ultra-low temperature container, which was developed in cooperation. It  meets the jointly defined, high requirements of our team consisting of refrigeration experts.

 

The container is divided into three compartments:

1) Air Lock: Air lock which is actively cooled by a R744 cooling unit in order to reduce the humidity in the main chamber and to avoid considerable energy losses during loading and unloading.

2) Main chamber: The main chamber is reliably cooled by the Mirai intex air cycle machine from -30 °C to -110 °C using only ambient air. The main chamber also has an installed air shield which reduces transmission and increases efficiency.

 

3) Machine room: It is located in the rear part of the container, in which the refrigeration systems and control cabinets are located.

The air cycle technology is frequently used in the pharmaceutical industry due to its failure safety. Thus ULT storage rooms and pharmaceutical processes such as freeze drying and solvent recovery are based on this forward-looking technology.

Thanks to the innovative approach using exclusively natural refrigerants, the customer has planning security and is not subject to the restrictions of the F-gas regulation 517/2014 / EU. Compared to synthetic refrigerants, natural refrigerants contribute almost nothing to the greenhouse effect and are therefore much more environmentally friendly. Furthermore, air cycle technology is the most efficient choice for applications which need temperatures between -50 ° C and -115 ° C.

Project partner

KTI Plersch Vogelperspektive.JPG

KTI-Plersch

Pioneer for turnkey cooling and heating systems. Has a large portfolio of mobile ice making systems.

neubau1.jpg

Secon

Expert in propane refrigeration systems and cooling water sets. Sells and supports air cycle machines in the DACH countries.

DSC_1494_fin_nahled.jpg

Mirai Intex

Mirai Intex is the manufacturer of air cycle technology with the advanced turbo compressor expander with air bearings.

ULT-Container  

Die Lagerung von Impfstoffen oder Produkte wie Enzymen, Blutplasma sowie Rückstellproben erfordern sehr niedrige Temperaturen teilweise unter -80°C. Diese ULT (= Ultra-Low Temperature) -Anwendungen benötigen verlässliche und effiziente Kältetechnik. Viele Anlagenhersteller setzen das synthetische Kältemittel R23 (GWP von 14.800 Tonnen CO2-Äquivalent) ein, dass das Klima im Falle einer Leckage massiv belastet und dessen Verbot in naher Zukunft höchstwahrscheinlich ist. Um eine Alternative zum kritischen Kältemittel R23 anzubieten, hat sich Refolution mit KTI-Plersch, Secon und Mirai Intex zusammengetan, um ein effizientes, mobiles und umweltfreundliches Tieftemperaturlager zu konstruieren, welches auf der von Mirai Intex entwickelten Kaltlufttechnik basiert.

ULT-Container
ULT-Container Eingang
ULT-Container Innenansicht
ULT-Container Seitenansicht Logos
20211102_135700

KTI-Plersch bietet nun ein mobiles Ultratieftemperaturlager an, welches in Zusammenarbeit entstanden ist und den gemeinsam festgelegten, hohen Anforderungen entspricht.

 

Der Container ist in drei Abteile unterteilt:

1) Schleuse: Luftschleuse, welche durch ein R744 Kälteaggregat aktiv gekühlt wird, um die Feuchtigkeit in der Hauptkammer zu reduzieren und erhebliche Energieverluste beim Be- und Entladen zu vermeiden.

2) Hauptkammer: Die Hauptkammer wird durch die Kaltluftmaschine von Mirai Intex stufenlos von -30 °C auf -110 °C mit ausschließlich Umgebungsluft gekühlt. Ebenfalls verfügt die Hauptkammer über ein installiertes Luftschild, welches die Transmission verringert und die Effizienz erhöht.

 

3) Maschinenraum: Befindet sich im hinteren Teil des Containers, in dem sich die Kälteanlagen und Schaltschränke befinden.

Die Kaltluftkältemaschine ist eine in der Pharmabranche aufgrund ihrer Ausfallsicherheit häufig eingesetzte Technologie, die bereits für ULT-Lagerräume und pharmazeutische Prozesse wie Gefriertrocknung und Lösungsmittelrückgewinnung eingesetzt wird.

Durch den innovativen Ansatz unter Verwendung ausschließlich natürlicher Kältemittel, hat der Kunde Planungssicherheit und ist nicht den Bestimmungen der F-Gase-Verordnung 517/2014/EU unterworfen. Natürliche Kältemittel tragen im Vergleich zu synthetischen Kältemitteln nur geringfügig zum Treibhauseffekt bei und sind daher umweltfreundlicher. Des Weiteren ist die Kaltlufttechnik für Temperaturen zwischen -50 °C und -115 °C die effizienteste Wahl.

Projektpartner

KTI Plersch Vogelperspektive.JPG

KTI-Plersch

Pionier für schlüsselfertige Kälte- und Heizungsanlagen. Besitzt ein großes Portfolio an mobilen Eiserzeugungsanlagen.

neubau1.jpg

Secon

Experte für Propan-Kälteanlagen und Kühlwassersätze. Vertreibt Kaltluftkältemaschinen in der DACH-Region.

DSC_1494_fin_nahled.jpg

Mirai Intex

Mirai Intex ist der Hersteller der Kaltlufttechnik mit dem luftgelagertem Turboverdichter-expander.