Broschüre_Frontseite.png

Ultra-Low temperature storage

Due to the development of a COVID-19 vaccine and its special requirements transportable ultra-low temperature storage rooms are more and more in the focus for the upcoming distribution. At the moment the market is flooded with solutions so that it is increasingly difficult to find the optimal solution. With this overview we provide an overview of the important criteria. We will also present our solution which was developed in close cooperation with our partner companies Teledoor , Mirai Intex and Secon that match all these criteria. Have a look!

3D model of low-temperature storage room with cold air refrigeration machines (Mirai Intex), air distribution system and moisture extraction device inside the cold room

Titelbild.png
nogwp_stamp (1).png

Important criteria

Isolation & Specific Surface

The most important parameter for energy efficiency

The greater the outer surface and the greater the temperature differences between ambient and storage temperature, the higher is the heat input from the outside. Good insulation is therefore essential when storing at ultra-low temperatures. One possibility is to increase the wall thickness. But at a certain thickness this hardly brings any improvement and further limits the storage volume. This can be optimized by combining PU foam and integrated vacuum panels which result in high insulation values with moderate wall thicknesses.

The outer surface is significantly influenced by the geometry. Therefore it makes sense to keep the ratio of volume to surface as small as possible. The quotient of the external surface to the storage volume, which is referred to as the specific surface, is used as a reference value.

To illustrate this several individual refrigerators are compared to a large storage room. In general larger machines are more efficient than small ones. But even if many refrigerators are operated in the exact same way as one big storage room, they differ considerably in terms of energy consumption. This is due to the fact that the individual refrigerators have a significantly larger specific surface than the storage room. It can quickly add up to a factor of 10 in energy consumption.

Nature provides a fitting example for this. When looking at two different penguin species you can see from their natural habitats how drastic this influence is:

Emperor penguin

 

Specific surface

Energy consumption

per body volume

Lives in Antarctica

Is able to survive ambient temperature of -47°C

penguin-34279_1280.png

African penguin

 

Specific surface

Energy consumption

per body volume

Lives in South Africa

Needs at least 0°C ambient temperature to survive

One big storage

 

Specific surface

Energy consumption

per storage volume

Low, outer heat inlet

Efficient

fridge-158792_1280.png
fridge-158792_1280.png
fridge-158792_1280.png

Many, small refrigerators

 

Specific surface

Energy consumption

per storage volume

High, outer heat inlet

Inefficient

Refrigeration technology & regulations

Air as a refrigerant is the most suitable and safest solution

In the case of ultra-low temperature storage it is important to have a correspondingly high-performance and efficient refrigeration technology. The energy input from the environment (transmission), waste heat from electrical installations and loading and unloading procedures result in a corresponding power requirement. In addition, the moisture must be constantly removed from the cold room.

In terms of refrigeration technology it must also be ensured that it does not fall under the current regulations or is restricted by them. This currently affects the characteristic value "Global Warming Potential" (GWP) which is reduced to an average value of approx. 500 by 2030 due to the quota regulation of the European F-Gas Regulation and already prohibits refrigerants with GWP over 2500 for normal applications.

The refrigerants with high GWP, such as R23 (GWP = 14900 ) may still be used in ultra-low temperature applications as an exception. However, we strongly advise against this. For example R23 will most likely be banned in the next revision in 2021 and is currently massively affected by the shortage due to the quota regulation. New systems with this refrigerant are dubious and harmful to the environment. To make the impact on the environment tangible, let's compare the CO2 equivalent (GWP) of one kilo of R23 with the distance a car could travel until it emitted the same amount of CO2:

gas-container-160416_1280_edited.png

=

car-308000_1280.png
world-97864_1280.png
world-97864_1280.png

In concrete terms, this means that a single kilo of R23 has as much global warming potential as the amount of CO2 that a car would emit if it traveled twice around the world.

We consciously use the natural refrigerant ambient air for cooling. This means you are future-proof and environmentally friendly . In addition, you do not need any additional safety measures as with other natural refrigerants such as ethane, ammonia and CO2.

Loading and unloading processes

Locks reduce the heat input when access-ing the cold room

Opening the access to the storage room creates a brief, large flow of air which brings a lot of warm air into the cold room. This has a drastic effect especially in low-temperature applications as the difference in density of the air between the storage room and the ambient is high due to the temperature difference. This means that a lot of cold air leaves the cold room when the door is opened. Due to the integration of a sluice  which as a buffer zone is only tempered by transmission and convection from the cooling chamber the influence on the storage temperature in consequence of loading / unloading procedures remain low .

Electrical Installations

Evaporator and superstructures bring in heat

With conventional refrigeration systems an evaporator is necessary in the cold room. It is equipped with a fan and a fan ring heater and must be thermally de-iced at regular intervals. Both components and the de-icing process bring a lot of heat into the cold room. In addition, active cooling cannot be used during defrosting. With air cycle refrigeration machines an evaporator is no longer necessary, which means that these heat sources are no longer present and it can be continuously cooled. This makes the ultra-low temperature storage room with air cycle refrigeration machines more efficient. Furthermore, all electrical installations should be carefully considered and suitable for the storage temperature.

Optimal storage temperature

Speed-controlled air cycle refrigerations machines are very flexible

Since conventional refrigeration systems can only be used in a certain temperature range, the area of application of the storage room is limited. With cold air technology , any range between -40 ° C and -110 ° C can be approached without any problems, because the cold-air cooling machines are speed-controlled . In addition, these storage rooms have an air distribution system, which means that there is a homogeneous temperature distribution in the entire cold room.

Press

Die Kälte
Fachartikel

(de)

accelerate24.news

(eng)

r744.com

Fachartikel

(eng)

TieFTemperaturlagerung

Durch die Entwicklung eines COVID-19 Impfstoffes und dessen besonderen Anforderungen rücken transportable Tieftemperaturlagerräume immer mehr in den Fokus für die bevorstehende Distribution. Dementsprechend wird der Markt aktuell von Lösungen überflutet, sodass es immer schwerer fällt zwischen einem passenden und einem ungeeigneten Produkt zu unterscheiden. Wir schaffen mit unserer Übersichtsseite Klarheit und zeigen die wichtigsten Merkmale auf, die ein -80°C Lagerraum haben soll. Ebenso präsentieren wir unsere Lösung, die in enger Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Partnern Teledoor, Mirai Intex und Secon entwickelt wurde.

3D-Modell Tieftemperaturlagerraum mit Kaltluftkältemaschine (Mirai Intex), Luftverteilungssystem, Feuchtigkeitsabsauggerät im Kühlraum und Schleuse

Wichtige Kriterien

Isolierung & Spezifische Oberfläche

Wichtigster Kennwert für die Energieeffizienz

Um so größer die Außenoberfläche und der Temperaturunterschieden von Umgebungs- zu Lagertemperatur und desto größer der Wärmeeintrag. Daher ist eine gute Isolierung essentiell bei der Tieftemperaturlagerung. Eine Möglichkeit ist die Erhöhung der Wanddicke, was aber ab einem bestimmten Punkt prozentual kaum noch Verbesserung bringt, aber das Lagervolumen begrenzt. Abhilfe bringen Kombinationen aus PU-Schaum und integrierten Vakuumpaneele die mit moderaten Wanddicken hohe Isolierwerte ergeben.

Die Außenoberfläche wird maßgeblich durch die Geometrie beeinflusst. Daher ist es sinnvoll das Verhältnis von Volumen zu Oberfläche möglichst klein zu halten. Als Anhaltswert gilt der Quotient aus Außenoberfläche zu Lagervolumen, welcher als spezifische Oberfläche bezeichnet wird.

Zur Veranschaulichung werden mehrere, einzelne Kühlschränke im Vergleich zu einem großen Lagerraum betrachtet. In der Regel sind größere Maschinen effizienter als kleine. Aber selbst wenn viele Kühlschränke im Vergleich zu einem Lagerraum gleich betrieben werden, unterscheiden sie sich beim Energieverbrauch erheblich, denn die einzelnen Kühlschränke weisen eine deutlich größere spezifische Oberfläche im Gegensatz zum Lagerraum auf. Dies kann schnell einen Faktor 10 im Energieverbrauch aus machen.

Die Natur liefert hier ein perfektes Beispiel. Beim Betrachten zweier, verschiedener Pinguinarten erkennt man anhand deren Lebensräume, wie drastisch dieser Einfluss ist:

Kaiserpinguin

spez. Oberfläche

Energieverbrauch
pro Körpervolumen

Lebt in der Antarktis

Überlebt Temperaturen bis - 47°C

Brillenpinguin

spez. Oberfläche

Energieverbrauch

pro Körpervolumen

Lebt in Südafrika

Benötigt Temperaturen über 0°C zum Überleben

ein großer Lagerraum

spez. Oberfläche

Energieverbrauch
pro Lagervolumen

geringer, äußerer Wärmeeintrag

Effizient

viele, einzelne Kühlschränke

spez. Oberfläche

Energieverbrauch
pro Lagervolumen

hoher, äußerer Wärmeeintrag

Ineffizient

Kältetechnik & Reglementierungen

Luft als Kältemittel ist passendste und sicherste Lösung

Bei Tieftemperaturlagerung ist es wichtig eine entsprechend performante und effiziente Kältetechnik zu haben. Durch den Energieeintrag der Umgebung (Transmission), Abwärme durch elektrische Einbauten und das Be- und Entladen ergeben sich ein entsprechender Leistungsbedarf. Zudem muss die Feuchtigkeit ständig aus dem Kühlraum entfernt werden.

Bei der Kältetechnik ist zudem darauf zu achten, dass sie nicht unter die aktuellen Regularien fällt bzw. dadurch reglementiert wird. Dies betrifft aktuell den Wert "Global Warming Potential" (GWP), der durch die Quotenregelung der Europäische F-Gas Verordnung bis 2030 auf einen Mittelwert von ca. 500 reduziert und schon heute Kältemittel mit GWP über 2500 für normale Anwendungen verbietet.

Das Tieftemperaturkältemittel R23 mit einem GWP von 14900 darf immer noch aufgrund einer Ausnahme in der Reglementierung eingesetzt werden. Davon ist aber unbedingt abzuraten. Dies wird höchst wahrscheinlich schon in der nächsten Revision 2021 verboten und ist aktuell durch die Quotenregelung von der Verknappung massiv betroffen. Neuanlagen mit diesem Kältemittel sind unseriös und umweltschädlich. Um die Auswirkung auf die Umwelt greifbar zu machen, vergleichen  wir das CO2-Äquivalent von einem Kilo R23 mit der Strecke, die ein Auto zurücklegen könnte bis dieses die gleiche Menge an CO2 ausgestoßen hätte:

=

Konkret heißt das, dass ein einziges Kilo R23 so viel Treib-hauspotenzial hat, wie die Menge CO2, die ein Auto bei 2-facher Erdumrundung ausstoßen würde.

Wir setzten bewusst das natürliche Kältemittel Umgebungsluft für die Kühlung ein. Damit sind Sie zukunftssicher und umweltverträglich. Zudem brauchen Sie keine zusätzlichen Sicherheitsmaßnahmen wie bei anderen natürlichen Kältemitteln wie Ethan, Ammoniak und CO2.

Be- und Entladeprozesse

Schleusen reduzieren den Wärmeeintrag beim Zugang zum Kühlraum

Durch das Öffnen des Zugangs zum Lagerraum entsteht ein kurzzeitiger, großer Luftstrom, welcher viel warme Luft in den Kühlraum bringt. Vor allem bei Tieftemperaturanwendungen hat dies einen drastischen Effekt, da der Dichteunterschied zwischen Lagerraum und Vorraum durch den Temperaturunterschied hoch ist. Damit fällt die kalte Luft in den Vorraum beim Öffnen der Tür. Durch die Integration einer Schleuse, die als Pufferzone nur durch Transmission und Konvektion aus der Kühlkammer temperiert wird, bleibt der Einfluss beim Be-/Entladen gering.

Elektrische Einbauten

Verdampfer und Aufbauten bringen Wärme ein

Bei konventionellen Kälteanlagen ist im Kühlraum ein Verdampfer notwendig. Dieser ist mit einem Ventilator sowie einer Ventilatorringheizung ausgestattet und muss in regelmäßigem Abstand thermisch enteist werden. Beide Bauteile sowie der Enteisungsprozess bringen viel Wärme in den Kühlraum. Zudem kann während dem Abtauen nicht aktiv gekühlt werden. Mit offenen Kaltluftkältemaschinen ist kein Verdampfer mehr nötig, womit diese Wärmequellen entfallen und kontinuierlich gekühlt werden kann. Dadurch ist der Tieftemperaturlagerraum mit Kaltluftkältemaschinen effizienterDes Weiteren sollten alle elektrischen Einbauten gut überlegt und für die Lagertemperatur geeignet sein. 

Optimale Lagertemperatur

Drehzahlgesteuerte Kaltluftkältemaschinen sind sehr flexibel

Da konventionellen Kälteanlagen nur in einem bestimmten Temperaturbereich eingesetzt werden können, ist das Einsatzgebiet des Lagerraums eingeschränkt. Mit Kaltlufttechnik lässt sich problemlos jeder Bereich zwischen -40°C und -110°C anfahren, denn die Kaltluftkältemaschinen sind drehzahlgesteuert. Zusätzlich besitzen diese Lagerräume ein Luftverteilungssystem, wodurch im gesamten Kühlraum eine homogene Temperaturverteilung herrscht.

Adresse

Karpatenstraße 26, 76227 Karlsruhe

Kontakt

Folgen

+49 (0) 1797860704

©2019 by Refolution Industriekälte GmbH